Simoy ng Hangin: The Air You Breathe

plants

Indoor plants that can help change the quality of air in your home.

by TYason

The current state of downpours have brought upon a deluge of floodwaters after a very intense season of heat. As a natural course, I stay indoors, preferring to write in my bedroom/office/studio/storage room until I head off back to the US in fall.

Unfortunately, being in a room where the windows have been closed for fear of having the rains come in can make any place stuffy. After having come from lunch at The Fort one time, I stepped into the room and UGH! It hit me that because of the comforts of airconditioning, I had neglected to let natural air in.

I threw the windows wide open to let all the humidity in and all the germ-carrying air out (I am sure there were germs..) and being the curious person I am, ventured online to search for information about indoor air pollution..

Just a gist of what I found out:

Fumes from our stoves can affect the air quality in our homes. If your house has an exhaust fan use it whenever you are cooking or frying.

Smoke from cigarettes – If there are smokers in your home, ask them to stop smoking or ask them to smoke outside.

Pollen, mold, and dander from pets can make us sick. Asthma and allergy sufferers, this is a perennial battle…. If you have a vacuum cleaner, use it to clean your rugs, carpets, sofas, mattresses and all the spaces where these can collect. Best to do it more than twice a week.

Paint, cleaners, insecticides and other household products contain chemicals that affect air quality. Don’t buy too much of them and store them in the house. Always follow the warning on the labels.

Then, there is the issue of radon, asbestos and lead in our homes (old and new) that would eventually affect our health and well-being.

So it seems that my walks along city streets, sniffing in lungfuls of jeepney exhaust are nothing compared to what I might be living with.

I am off to clean the aircon filters now. Shades of pananoia here but it is better to be safe than sorry.

Next on my To Buy list: HEPA FILTERS!

 

Leave a Reply

